Bob McNeill Music Store

Lost stars
The California Tapes
Race for the sun
The Little Cascade
We use Bandcamp for download sales
The reason is simple - 82% of what you pay goes to the musicians
When you buy & download using these links, you're directly supporting the artists on this page
Thank you!
Lost Stars
deluxe edition with additional tracks
2024's re-release of Lost Stars is a deluxe edition with remixes, bonus tracks and unreleased material. It includes the singles Itasca and Vermont, together with new versions of Anna's dream and Jesusita, two of McNeill's most-requested songs at concerts. These were originally released on Project Feijoa's album The California Tapes. Also featured are an alternate version of Every Road to Lyon and Carpinteria, which was intended for Lost Stars but never made the cut and later became a B side. The album is rounded out by a remastered version of Where you can't see the border, another Project Feijoa song, telling the story of migrants to California making their way back south over the border.



Em Griffiths: harmony vocals on Oregon & Itasca
Emily Roughton: violin & piano on Where You Can't See the Border, viola on Anna's Dream
Ted Cizaldo: radio voice on Itasca
Rob Henderson: bass on Where You Can't See the Border & Jesusita
Bob McNeill: guitars, vocals, keyboards, bass and programming
Mike Moroney: mandolin on Jesusita

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Bob McNeill
Special thanks to Mike Moroney

CDs $30 inc shipping

Half Light

Original music for flute and guitar, from New Zealand. Tunes written in the cracks and spaces between live shows, volcanoes and the overturn

AIR is a collection of original tunes written by Rennie Pearson & Bob McNeill in early 2023 and recorded in April 2023 in Takaka, in the South Island of New Zealand.

On stage we use all sorts of sounds, instruments and effects to create our mood. With Air, we asked ourselves the question: what could we do with just one flute, or a whistle, one acoustic guitar and two mics. Just the two of us in a room. No effects, no processing, just a bit of reverb to sweeten it up. Here's the answer

Recorded at The Other House, Takaka

Half Light are

Rennie Pearson: Flute, whistles
Bob McNeill: Guitar


Mixed by Bob McNeill
Mastered by Mike Moroney
All tracks written by Rennie Pearson & Bob McNeill

Released 5 October 2023


Flightless EP
Flightless is the first release by Wellington trio Triske, made up of Em Griffiths (Vocals, Fiddle, Whistle), Ceara McAuliffe Bickerton (Vocals, Flute, Whistles) and Bob McNeill (Vocals, Guitar).

With toe-tapping tunes and emotive songs, Triske transports their listeners from Aotearoa to the far corners of the Celtic nations. Formed in 2021, their music blends traditional and modern tunes to get you on your feet and dancing. Their original and traditional songs use ethereal arrangements of vocals and instruments to weave spellbinding stories of past and present. From armchair to dancefloor, Triske will leave you breathless and wanting to hear more.


Released 26 February 2023
Mixed by Bob McNeill
Mastered by Mike Moroney

Flightless written by Em Griffiths & Bob McNeill
Waipori Valley Song written by Bob McNeill
Wide eyes written by Em Griffiths

Cover design by Ceara McAuliffe Bickerton



The California Tapes
Project Feijoa


Project Feijoa's debut album The California Tapes was released on 1 September 2019. Written by Bob McNeill and recorded mostly in the second half of 2018 / early 2019, the album is a collection of 11 songs mostly written on the road in 2009, around Santa Barbara and San Francisco. Propelled along by Rob Henderson's driving basslines, the album weaves McNeill's Spanish and electric guitar tomfoolery with Emily Roughton's gorgeous viola, piano and fiddle stylings to create a rich and varied sound palette for the stories.

The California Tapes includes McNeill's "fire trilogy"; Jesusita tells one's man's story of the 2009 Jesusita fire in Santa Barbara, as he runs for his life, while the last reminders of an old love are burned over; in Painted Princess, he finds something worth living for in a figure from the Chumash past; in Las Canoas he hears the story of an older fire, from California's gold mining past, and sees his story as part of the cycle of love, loss and renewal.


Emily Roughton: Piano, viola & fiddle
Rob Henderson: Bass
Bob McNeill: Guitars & programming, vocals


So many thank yous to...
Mike Moroney: mandolin on Jesusita
Jonathan Berkahn: accordion on Las Canoas


All songs written by Bob McNeill
Recorded by Bob McNeill
Additional source recording on Lay me down, San Joachin, La Vaquilla and Las Canoas by Robbie Duncan at Braeburn
Mixed by Bob McNeill
Produced by Project Feijoa



Race for the Sun

"A terrific ten-track trek through traditional peaks and valleys of melody..

...subtlety and nuance carry both the day and the tunes, reminding listeners that less can be more, and that music lives in the spaces between the notes."


Gillian Boucher & Bob McNeill's debut album Race for the Sun has all the trademarks of their live shows - tight, punchy fiddle sets; lyrical songs; and poignant slow airs. Race for the Sun brings together an eclectic collection of instrumental favourites from their live shows, played with her usual panache by one of Cape Breton's top fiddlers. Race for the Sun also features three new songs from three times Best NZ Folk Album winner Bob McNeill, including the title song, about Scottish emigrants who eventually reached New Zealand via Cape Breton and southern Australia. Rounding out the album is a cover of Emily Bay, a terrific convict ballad by fellow Kiwi Andrew London.

Gillian (fiddle & piano) & Bob (guitar) are joined on Race for the Sun by some of NZ's best musicians; Andrew Laking on bass, Emily Roughton on fiddle and Duncan Davidson on acordion and whistle.


So many thank yous to...
Emily Roughton: additional violin on Race for the Sun
Duncan Davidson: accordion, whistle on Race for the Sun
Andrew Laking: bass on Fury, Race for the Sun


Recorded by Andrew Downes (Surgery Studios), Ross McDermott (AudioSuite) & Bob McNeill
Mixed & mastered by Bob McNeill
Produced by Gillian Boucher & Bob McNeill

Fury, Steel & Silver, Race for the Sun and FGL written by Bob McNeill
Emily Bay written by Andrew London
The Glen of Aferlow and The Abbeyleix written by Sean Ryan
47 Upper Hillsborough written by Pascal Miousse
Seanamhach Tube Station written by John Carty
Mountain Road #2 written by Martin Mulvilhill
The Salvation written by Simon Bradley
The Clare written by Jimmy Ward
Lament for James Moray of Abercairney written by Neil Gow

Released: 16 October 2019
Running time: 45 minutes


The little cascade
Ben the Hoose
Released nearly 20 years ago, 2006's The Little Cascade is a classic New Zealand folk album, having won numerous accolades as well as the "Tui" (NZ's Grammys) for Best Folk Album that year. Orcadian fiddler Kenny Ritch, backed by Bob McNeill on acoutic guitar became one of NZ's signature folk acts on the back of the The Little Cascade and a series of classic festival performances over 2006 and 2007. The album contains a mix of modern and traditional Scottish tunes, plus two original songs from Bob McNeill and a rendition of Robert Tannahill's Gloomy winter's noo awa'.


Kenny Ritch: fiddle
Bob McNeill: guitar & vocals
Barrie McDonald: piano on Norway yawl
Mastered at Studios 301, Sydney, Australia



This content comes from a hidden element on this page.

The inline option preserves bound JavaScript events and changes, and it puts the content back where it came from when it is closed.

If you try to open a new Colorbox while it is already open, it will update itself with the new content.